About DC Communications

Professor Dasarath Chetty is a research and communications expert and has been working in the private sector as CEO of DC Communications since April 2010.

Professor Dasarath Chetty served as the UKZN Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Director with the responsibility for the Corporate Relations Division. Under his leadership the Division received 38 Communications Excellence Awards (including four from the Association of Commonwealth Universities).

As an academic he has lectured sociology for over 20 years and has presented over 71 invited papers in 31 countries and has published widely.

He holds a BA, BA (HONS), MA and PhD(Organisational Sociology).Having served on the University Executive for ten years, Professor Chetty has high level managerial, communication, research and report writing skills, extensive experience in general administration, as well as policy formulation and implementation.

His innovative approach to training at executive and managerial levels has received widespread praise from the business sector, government and academia.

Professional Experience


CEO | DC Communications

Adjunct Professor | Durban University of Technology

Visiting Professor | University of Wuppertal (Germany)

President | RC10 РInternational Sociological Association

Advisory Board Member | MAHSA University (Malaysia)

Pro-Vice-Chancellor | University of KwaZulu-Natal
2007 – 2009

Executive Director: Public Affairs | University of KwaZulu-Natal
2004 – 2007

Executive Director: Public Affairs and Development | University of Durban-Westville Durban, South Africa

Director: Corporate Development | University of Durban-Westville Durban, South Africa
2000 – 2002

Achievements and Awards

MACE Excellence Award | 2009
Excellence Award for Leadership of the Marketing, Advancement and Communications Community in South Africa

NGI Community Service Excellence Award | 2012
For an outstanding contribution to Education and Child Welfare from the NGI Foundation (New York)

Honourary Black Belt | 2009
From Shotokan Karate Institute of South Africa for outstanding community service

Paul Harris Fellowship | 2008
Outstanding community service award from Morningside Rotary Club

Jyoti Jevanam Movement of South Africa Award | 2008
Award for an outstanding contribution to Child Welfare

CWSA 25 Year Voluntary Service Award | 2008
Received from Child Welfare South Africa for distinguished voluntary service

Golden Key Award | 2008
Golden Key Society Achiever Award for Academic Excellence

Nadaraja Achiever Award | 2007
Award for outstanding community service from the Indian Academy of South Africa

International Speaker

73 Presentations as invited speaker in 31 countries

Editorial Board Member
Society in Transition,Journal of the South African Sociological Association(1998-2004)

Editorial Board Member
Current Sociology,Journal of the International Sociological Association (2003-2010)

Leadership Roles

International Sociological Association
President (RC 10), 2018-2022
Vice President (RC 10), 1994-2006

Footballers for Life (Life – Skills and Training Organisation)
Chairperson, 2014 – 2016

Child Welfare South Africa (CWSA)
President, 2008 – 2012

Global Organisation of People of Indian Origin (SA Chapter)
President, 2008 – 2012
National Chairperson, 2013 – 2015

GOPIO International 
Vice – President, 2010 – 2015

MACE (Marketing , Advancement and Communications in Education)
President, 2008 – 2010

President, 2006 – 2008

South African National Council for Child and Family Welfare
President, 2004 – 2007

South African Sociological Association
President, 1999 – 2000, 2000 – 2001

Durban Children’s Society
President, 1999 – 2000

Child Family and Community Care Centre of Durban
President, 1994 – 1999

UDW Convocation
President, 1993 – 1994

Local Associates

Adv Karthi Govender
Dr Sakhile Zondi
Sakihle Zondi
Crispin Hemson
Hemson photo 2016

International Associates

Professor Dr Gyorgy Szell
Emeritus Professor Osnabruck University
Professor Dr Heinz Suenker
Wuppertal University
Professor Dr Volkmar Kreissig
DAAD Senior Professor
Volkmar Kreissig